Western Music Association

Western Music Association

Western Wordsmiths Chapter


Our Mission:
To produce, promote and preserve the tales, stories and poems
of the Western culture in written or oral form.

Western Wordsmiths






















WMA Western Wordsmiths
All Rights Reserved

The Western Music Association was founded in 1988 to foster the professional growth of individual performing members through their web site, the quarterly "Western Way," the annual International Western Music Festival every November, state and regional chapters, and an Educational Outreach Program.

The Western Wordsmiths Chapter started in 2011 to provide more support and opportunities for Western writers within the Western Music Association. Our members include poets, authors, story tellers, song writers and lyricists.

The primary goal of the Western Wordsmiths Chapter is to create poetry awards, and eligibility criteria for those awards.

Volunteers are needed. If you have an idea for Western Wordsmiths and are willing to chair a committee to make it happen, please contact a member of the Board. If you are a Western Wordsmiths member, and if you have the time and if you have a thick skin and if and want to volunteer, we want to hear from you. Please contact member of the Board for any of the above reasons. Thanks!

Click on a photo to find out more about that performer:

WMA Western Wordsmiths chapter



Aug 2: Congratulations to Floyd Beard for winning the 2015 National Cowboy Poetry Rodeo.

July 27: Congratulations to the following nominees for the 2015 WMA Awards of Excellence:

July 13: Congratulatins to Deanna Dickinson McCall on the release of her new book, "Rough Patches."

July 10: Congratulations to Almeda Bradshaw. Her poem "Abide" was selected for the column "Penned by Lantern Light" in The Western Way Summer 2015.

July 7: Poets, it's time to write, edit, and submit your poems for the The Western Music Association's (WMA) annual Georgie Sicking award. This award, begun last year in honor of cowboy poet Georgie Sicking, "... is presented to the author of a single poem that honors a working ranch cowboy’s lifestyle and celebrates our Western heritage." The handcrafted spurs shown above will be presented to the winner during the WMA's annual convention in November.

Only one work per poet may be submitted, a single poem either rhymed and metered or in free verse. In order to keep the poets' names anonymous from the confidential judges, certain rules must be followed. Those rules are attached below, including an entry form and address for submissions. Deadline is September 15.

The Western Wordsmiths Chapter of the The Western Music Association supports the award to honor a great cowboy poet and role model. Questions should be directed to the Western Music Association's Georgie Sicking Award Committee.

The 2015 Guidelines and Entry Form for the Georgie Sicking award have been posted.

June 27: The Application / Procedure and Criteria / Rules documents for the Cowboy Poetry Jackpot have been modified. Thanks to Susie Knight for all her work on this contest.

June 12: An excerpt from the press release:

"It was a clean sweep for Colorado cowboy poet Floyd Beard who claimed the top prize in both the humorous and serious poem categories of the Kansas Cowboy Poetry Contest on June 12.

"'Congratulations to Floyd who did an outstanding job,” said poetry contest chair and Western Wordsmith member Ron Wilson.

"As Kansas state champion, Floyd Beard received the coveted Governor’s Buckle, the Saddlejack Bradrick Award, discounts and gift certificates from leading western wear stores, and two tickets to the Symphony in the Flint Hills. In addition, as state winner he will have his entry fees paid to compete in the National Cowboy Poetry Rodeo in Abilene."

Floyd Beard, KS Poetry Champion